You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.


Biden Admin Launches New Attack on Second Amendment, Attorney General Jeff Landry Fights Back

Louisiana, 23 other States file suit on Pistol Brace Rule

BATON ROUGE, LA – Defending our Second Amendment, Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry joined Louisiana to a 24-state lawsuit against U.S. Attorney General Merrick Garland; the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF); and its director that seeks to block a new ATF rule governing pistol braces.

The Biden rule Factoring Criteria for Firearms with Attached Stabilizing Braces indicates that when manufacturers, dealers, and individuals pair stabilizing braces with 99% of pistols, they must comply with the laws that heavily regulate the pistol as a short-barreled rifle, including the National Firearms Act.

“With crime rising and citizens relying upon their gun rights even more, the Biden Administration is once again looking to make it more difficult for law-abiding citizens to protect themselves,” said Attorney General Landry. “This latest attack means Americans using a stabilizing brace would now have to apply for a permit with the ATF within four months, pay a tax, and face restrictions on future transfer of the brace.”

“Stabilizing braces were designed to help people with disabilities use pistols; and now they are used by many older people, people with limited mobility, disabled veterans, and people in smaller stature,” explained Attorney General Landry. “Lawful gun owners use stabilizers to prevent some recoil when firing and to help with accuracy.”

“Like it has done with so many other unlawful Biden edicts, I trust the federal courts will enjoin the ATF from enforcing this rule and declare it unlawful,” concluded Attorney General Landry. “I will continue doing all that I can to defend our constitutional rights.”


The lawsuit was led by West Virginia and joined by Louisiana, Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia and Wyoming.